A NEW LIFE
Chapter 7

**************************************

Through my mom’s connection, I was able to
secure a very profitable job in one of the biggest oil companies in Nigeria, in just 3 weeks after my youth service. The company
made arrangements for me to travel to the US for a 10 months managerial course. I only wished I could tell the
good news to Tope, but there was no means. She didn’t have a phone, she wasn’t on social media and not even an email account.
Few days later I traveled to Texas, U.S. It was a wonderful learning experience and I was well
taken care of. I met people from different parts of the world and I had a great time. At the end of the exercise, I returned back to Nigeria and
the following day I was assigned to the position
of an assistant manager. I had my own office and desk, it was too good to be true. My salary was wow!! My life was beautiful.

After 3 months of working I was able to acquire a brand new car. I could afford any
luxury that I wanted. My fashion changed, I got lots of cool natives and suits, expensive wrist watches, perfumes… I didn’t know how to spend my money, every month it kept on
growing in numbers and since I wasn’t really an out going type with only few friends I had a huge savings.

A former course mate at the University was having a wedding. I was invited and I felt it was a very good opportunity for me to meet
up with good old friends. I came late for the church
wedding so I took a back seat and shortly after the church ceremony ended and we all dispersed to the reception not too far away.
At the reception I took a secluded seat. I never really liked to mingle and I decided to just observe from a distance. I saw lots of old
faces that made me smile. It was really good seeing their happy faces again. But a face I would never forget was Ella’s. I had a major
crush on Ella for 2 sessions and a semester, until she and Osas started dating shortly before we all graduated. Ella never
reciprocated the feelings and it was difficult to open up to her.
She’s a beautiful fair skinned lady and very decent. She was into
crafts: She made beads, shoes, bags and cloths. She carved out a name for herself on campus.

I was so pleased to see everyone smiling and
having a good time. I was busy with my phone and next thing, I looked up and I saw Ella’s coming my way. My heart beat began to
accelerate faster as she approached me. She had a smile on and I knew I was in trouble. She pulled out a
seat on my table and sat down, she then said. “Look who we have here… Mr Loner. You haven’t really changed have you?” I said. “Hi Ella, so good to see you.”
She then said. “oh Adeoluwa The guy I liked so much but never had the balls to walk
up to me.” I said. “Wait…You don’t mean it.” She said. “You never knew I liked you? Why did you think I was always in your class hanging
with Chioma?” I then said. “Oh my God… But you ended up dating Osas now?” She then said. “You are pathetic Adeoluwa . If you knew how long I came around your class hoping you would act. You know, I knew you have always been serious minded, focused and very
dedicated. You were not just man enough.”

I then said to her. “Are you still with Osas?” She said. “Osas and I broke up during service year, he wasn’t serious at all.” I then said. “Is it too late, Ella?” She laughed and shook her head. Adeoluwa you are still pathetic. You haven’t changed but it’s still cute though.” I then asked her. “How about your craft
business?” She said. “It’s doing well, I use my house for now but I really need a place because sometimes I
get large orders and no space to work. I am thinking of getting a job so I can save up to get a place for my business.” I then said. “Okay…. Ella, I know I messed up in the past. I am sorry about that, I was very
shy and immature. I have really changed, trust me on this. I have always admired you, always patronize your crafts even though I never needed them. If there’s nobody you are seeing, please consider me. I am begging you.”

She then said. “Aww… How sweet. you know what?
Let me have your number. Meanwhile, lets go meet up with our friends over there.”
I then gave her my business card and she was like. “Wow!! Adeoluwa, you here. I have always known you were special.” After the reception, I dropped her home and when I got home I called her and we spent
over an hour talking on the phone. We kept on talking for long over the week and the prospect of Ella and I starting a relationship
grew by the day. We decided to fix a date the following weekend and we chose Saturday. So on that day we
went to a nice restaurant to have lunch. We cracked school jokes and talked about old times… It was a wonderful moment. I then
asked her. “Ella about your business. How much will it cost you to relocate and
restructure your business?” She said. “Well, it will cost me N350,000.” I then reached out to my small bag and brought out my cheque book. Then she said. Adeoluwa. What do you think yo are doing?” I told her. “I am writing you a cheque of N350,000? She then said. “I can’t take it, I am sorry, I just can’t take it.” I said. “Its a loan, you can pay me when you ready to.” She said. “How much interest?” I then said. “N1 ”
she lauded, hugged me and that was it. I really wanted to do something very important in her life, so she would know that I was very concerned about her future.

When I got home my mom called. She wanted to know
my next move.Obviously marriage, I told her about Ella and she wanted to see her the following weekend. I
then told Ella if she would like to pay my home a
visit and meet my family. She delightfully welcomed it. She came over and my mom really liked her. They
talked for over an hour and I even felt left out. It was a good thing. She had lunch with us and she also helped in washing the dishes, my mom was so proud of her, even though it was their first meeting. After I had dropped Ella off at her place I got
back home and my mom called me.

She wanted to know
my next move.Obviously marriage, I told her about Ella and she wanted to see her the following weekend. I
then told Ella if she would like to pay my home a
visit and meet my family. She delightfully welcomed it. She came over and my mom really liked her. They
talked for over an hour and I even felt left out. It was a good thing. She had lunch with us and she also helped in washing the dishes, my mom was so proud of her, even though it was their first meeting. After I had dropped Ella off at her place I got
back home and my mom called me. She said. “Ella is a good lady, she will make an awesome wife. She’s
creative, she’s got her own business, she’s going to have time to run and maintain her home, have
time for the kids. I mean what else do you need?” I said. “I know Ella is wonderful.” She then said. “When are you proposing to
her? you better do it soon before someone else does.” I then said. “Well, we will be traveling to Calabar in 3 weeks, for her friends wedding. I think that’s when I will do it.”
…continues in chapter 8

LOVE AND VIRGINITY EPISODE 6

LOVE AND VIRGINITY EPISODE 8